Week One: Take Action Against Ordinance to Criminalize Homelessness

April 1, 2012 in Video


Video clips from meeting on Friday, March 30 filmed by Gary Crabtree
For background on this issue, please read our post: Occupy Denver Opposes Further Criminalizing the Homeless

On Friday, March 30, over 50 concerned citizens gathered in Lincoln Park to discuss a proposed ordinance that would further criminalize the act of being homeless. Members of Occupy Denver and many outside groups, along with those who are or have been homeless, discussed the bill and how it will effect all of us.

You can read the minutes from this meeting, if you desire.

At this meeting, we discussed some concrete steps that can be taken immediately to oppose this bill and make your voice heard.

Attend City Council Hearings

It will be very important for us to make our voice heard in person to our council members. Please try to attend one or more of the following meetings. Some of these meetings will have limited seating or may not allow the community to speak. It is still important that we bring as many people as possible and fill the hallways if necessary!

Tuesday, April 17, 2012 at 1:30pm
This proposed ordinance will be discussed by the Health, Safety, Education and Sustainability Committee in room 391 of the City and County Building at 1437 Bannock Street, Denver, CO.

Thursday, April 19, 2012 at 3:30pm
A reconvening meeting of the Denver Commission to End Homelessness will take place in the Parr-Widener Community Room (3rd floor) of the City and County Building at 1437 Bannock Street, Denver, CO.

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 at 10:30pm
The proposed ordinance will be discussed by LUTI and also be an action item where a vote may be taken. This will occur in room 391 of the City and County Building at 1437 Bannock Street, Denver, CO.

Monday, April 30, 2012 at 5:30pm
City Council: First reading with a one-hour courtesy public hearing. Takes place in City Council Chambers in the City and County Building 1437 Bannock St, Denver, CO.

Monday, May 7, 2012 at 5:30pm
City Council: Final consideration and vote. Takes place in City Council Chambers in the City and County Building 1437 Bannock St, Denver, CO.

Call your city councilperson, the mayor and the councilpersons at-large!

Mayor – Michael B. Hancock. (720) 865-9011, MileHighMayor@denvergov.org

At Large – Robin Kniech, (720) 337-7712, KniechatLarge@denvergov.org
At Large – Deborah Ortega, (720) 337-7713, Deborah.Ortega@denvergov.org

District 1 – Susan K. Shepherd, (720) 337-7701, Susan.Shepherd@denvergov.org
District 2 – Jeanne Faatz, (720) 337-2222, Jeanne.Faatz@denvergov.org
District 3 – Paul D. Lopez, (720) 337-3333, Paul.Lopez@denvergov.org
District 4 – Peggy Lehmann, (720) 337-4444, Peggy.Lehmann@denvergov.org (Council President Pro Tem)
District 5 – Mary Beth Susman, (720) 337-5555, Marybeth.Susman@denvergpv.org
District 6 – Charlie Brown, (720) 337 6666, Charlie.Brown@denvergov.org
District 7 – Chris Nevitt, (720) 337-7777, Chris.Nevitt@denvergov.org (Council President)
District 8 – Albus Brooks, (720) 337-8888, Albus.Brooks@denvergov.org
District 9 – Judy H. Montero, (720) 337-7709, Judy.Montero@denvergov.org
District 10 – Jeanne Robb, (720) 337-7710, Jeanne.Rob@denvergov.org
District 11 – Christopher Herndon, (720) 337-7711, Christopher.Herndon@denvergov.org

Contact Albus Brooks

Albus Brooks, the councilman from district 8, is the person who is bringing this proposal to the city council. It is very important that he knows there are many people in Denver united against this bill and think it is a bad idea. You can contact him at:

Albus Brooks, District 8 Councilman
2713 Welton St.
Denver, CO 80205

Phone: (720) 337-8888
Fax: (720) 337-8883

Albus Brooks’ Facebook Page
Albus Brooks’ Twitter Account

Learn more about the proposed ordinance

The Colorado Coalition for the Homeless has much more information at their website Homes Not Handcuffs, where you can also download the draft ordinance.

The city council has titled this ordinance as a ban on “urban camping,” as if it’s just people going out for a fun night on the town. In reality, this ordinance would criminalize the state of being homeless, as there are not enough shelter spaces for all of Denver’s homeless population. It is also aimed at stifling peaceful political protest. Watch this video to understand how ridiculous the notion of “urban camping” truly is:


Urban Camping from Tanner Spendley.